Your printer’s maker decides which filaments it officially stands behind, and the answer changes sharply between models. A Bambu Lab A1 and a Bambu Lab P2S share a slicer but get very different answers for ABS and carbon fiber. This chart pulls together what each maker publishes for 30 current and recent models from Bambu Lab, Prusa, Creality, Elegoo and Anycubic: the nozzle and bed limits, whether the printer is enclosed, and which materials the maker names. Filament picks for each material follow the chart.

It is desk research. Every cell comes from a maker’s product page, spec table or parts listing checked October 19, 2026, and nothing here comes from running these printers. If a maker’s page and this chart ever disagree, trust the maker’s page.

How to read the chart

Cell What it means
Yes The maker’s own page names the material for this printer in its stock setup.
Conditional The maker names it, with a catch such as an enclosure add-on, a hardened steel nozzle or a lower rating. The numbered note under each table says what the catch is.
Not recommended The maker says so.
Not listed The maker’s page doesn’t name the material for this printer. That isn’t the same as a ban, but it means there is no maker backing.
Spec fit The maker publishes no per-material list, and the published nozzle, bed and enclosure limits cover the material. Used only for the Elegoo Centauri Carbon 2.

The columns are the seven materials buyers ask about most. The last column covers carbon-fiber and glass-fiber filled filaments of any base plastic, including fiber-filled nylon. The Nylon column is plain PA.

Limits behind the answers

Nozzle temperature, bed temperature and enclosure explain most of the chart. Prusa’s XL+ page publishes the print-temperature windows it uses for each material, which is a handy yardstick for the limits below: PLA at 210 to 220 °C nozzle and 50 to 60 °C bed, PETG at 230 to 250 °C and 70 to 90 °C, ASA and ABS at 250 to 265 °C and 100 to 110 °C, PC at 270 to 285 °C and 80 to 120 °C, PA at 260 to 280 °C and 80 to 90 °C, and TPU at 220 to 240 °C and 50 to 60 °C. Other makers’ windows differ a little, so treat these as one maker’s published example.

Maker Printer Max nozzle Max bed Enclosure or chamber Stock nozzle
Bambu Lab A1 mini 300 °C 80 °C No enclosure listed Stainless steel
Bambu Lab A1 300 °C 100 °C No enclosure listed Stainless steel
Bambu Lab A2L 300 °C 80 °C No enclosure listed Stainless steel
Bambu Lab P1S 300 °C 100 °C Enclosed Stainless steel (0.4 mm)
Bambu Lab P2S 300 °C 110 °C Enclosed; Bambu’s headline is a 50 °C chamber Hardened steel
Bambu Lab X2D 300 °C 120 °C Enclosed; active chamber heating (headline: 65 °C) Hardened steel
Bambu Lab H2S 350 °C 120 °C Enclosed; active chamber heating to 65 °C Hardened steel
Bambu Lab H2D 350 °C 120 °C Enclosed; active chamber heating to 65 °C Hardened steel
Bambu Lab H2C 350 °C 120 °C Enclosed; active chamber heating to 65 °C Hardened steel
Prusa MK4S 290 °C 120 °C Open frame; Enclosure sold separately (up to 45 °C inside) Brass (high-flow CHT)
Prusa CORE One and CORE One+ 290 °C (400 °C with HT Hotend) 120 °C Enclosed; chamber up to 55 °C Brass (high-flow CHT)
Prusa CORE One L and L+ 290 °C (400 °C with HT Hotend) 120 °C Enclosed; chamber up to 60 °C Brass; hardened ObXidian sold separately
Prusa XL and XL+ 290 °C 115 °C Open frame; Enclosure+ sold separately (50 °C, or 60 °C with the external heater) Brass; hardened ObXidian sold separately
Creality K1C 300 °C 100 °C Enclosed Tri-metal (steel-tipped copper)
Creality K2 Plus 350 °C 120 °C Enclosed; active chamber heating to 60 °C Hardened steel
Creality K2 Pro 300 °C 110 °C Enclosed; active chamber heating to 60 °C Hardened steel
Creality Ender-3 V3 300 °C 110 °C No enclosure listed Tri-metal
Creality Ender-3 V3 SE 260 °C 100 °C No enclosure listed Copper alloy
Creality Ender-3 V3 KE 300 °C 100 °C No enclosure listed Copper alloy
Elegoo Centauri Carbon 2 350 °C 110 °C Enclosed chamber with smart grille Hardened steel
Elegoo Neptune 4 300 °C 110 °C No enclosure listed Not stated
Elegoo Neptune 4 Pro 300 °C 110 °C No enclosure listed Not stated
Elegoo Neptune 4 Plus 300 °C 100 °C No enclosure listed Not stated
Elegoo Neptune 4 Max 300 °C 85 °C (at 25 °C room temperature) No enclosure listed Not stated
Anycubic Kobra S1 320 °C 120 °C Fully enclosed Not stated (hardened steel hotends sold separately)
Anycubic Kobra S1 Max 350 °C 120 °C Enclosed; active chamber heating to 65 °C Hardened steel
Anycubic Kobra X 300 °C 100 °C No enclosure listed Hardened steel
Anycubic Kobra 4 300 °C 100 °C No enclosure listed Hardened steel
Anycubic Kobra 3 Max V2 300 °C 90 °C No enclosure listed Hardened steel
Anycubic Kobra 3 V2 300 °C 110 °C No enclosure listed Not stated

Source: each printer’s maker page, listed under Sources. “No enclosure listed” means the maker’s page doesn’t describe an enclosure or chamber for the printer. Elegoo and Anycubic list some nozzle materials only on their parts pages, so “Not stated” means the printer page itself doesn’t say.

The takeaways from the limits:

  • Under 300 °C is a ceiling for engineering plastics. The Ender-3 V3 SE’s 260 °C limit only just reaches the top of the ASA and ABS window and the bottom of the nylon window, which fits Creality listing only PLA, PETG and TPU 95A for it.
  • Bed temperature matters for ABS, ASA and nylon. The Bambu A1 mini and A2L top out at 80 °C and the Neptune 4 Max at 85 °C, below the 100 °C and higher beds that makers pair with ASA and ABS.
  • An enclosure or heated chamber is what separates “Yes” from “Conditional” for ABS, ASA and nylon. Prusa, Elegoo and Bambu all tie those materials to an enclosure in their own wording.
  • Hardened steel decides carbon fiber. Printers that ship with a hardened steel nozzle (Bambu P2S, X2D and H2 series, Creality K2, Anycubic Kobra X, Kobra 4 and S1 Max, Elegoo Centauri Carbon 2) get a plain “Yes” where the maker names fiber-filled filament. Printers that ship with brass, copper or stainless steel get “Conditional” and need a hardened nozzle first. The replacement nozzles and build plates by printer page lists each maker’s hardened option.

The chart by maker

Bambu Lab

Printer PLA PETG ABS ASA TPU Nylon (PA) Carbon or glass fiber
A1 mini Yes Yes Not recommended Not recommended Yes Not recommended Conditional1
A1 Yes Yes Not recommended Not recommended Yes Not recommended Conditional1
A2L Yes Yes Not listed Not listed Yes Not listed Conditional2
P1S Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Conditional3 Conditional4
P2S Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
X2D Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes5
H2S Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
H2D Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
H2C Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
  1. Bambu’s A1 mini and A1 pages list PLA, PETG, TPU and PVA as supported and rate ABS, ASA, PC, PA, PET and carbon- or glass-fiber polymers “not recommended.” Its A1/A2 hotend page, which is about nozzle compatibility rather than the whole machine, shows ABS, ASA and PA as workable on every nozzle size. The printer pages are the rating this chart follows. For fiber-filled filament, Bambu’s printer page rates it “not recommended” on the stock stainless steel nozzle, while the hotend page recommends a 0.4 mm hardened steel hotend for Bambu PLA-CF and PETG-CF and 0.6 mm or larger hardened nozzles for other fiber-filled filaments.
  2. The A2L page lists PLA, PETG, TPU and PVA, and says PLA-CF and PETG-CF are suitable after the nozzle is replaced with a hardened steel one.
  3. Bambu rates PA (like PC) as “capable” on the P1S, not “ideal.” PLA, PETG, TPU, PVA, PET, ABS and ASA are rated ideal.
  4. The P1S ships with a 0.4 mm stainless steel nozzle. Bambu’s P1 hotend page says hardened steel is required for carbon- and glass-fiber filaments and recommends a 0.6 mm hardened nozzle for them in general. Bambu PLA-CF and PETG-CF are the stated exceptions, with a low clog risk on a 0.4 mm hardened steel nozzle.
  5. The X2D has a main and an auxiliary hotend. Bambu says to use the main hotend for best quality with some filaments, and lists PLA Silk, PETG-CF, ASA-CF, PA6-CF and TPU for AMS as “print with caution” on the auxiliary hotend.

Bambu’s own filament pages also carry printer-compatibility tabs, so check the specific spool as well as the printer. The Bambu Lab X1 Carbon is missing from this chart because the maker’s current US store no longer lists it; its hotend page applies the same nozzle rules as the P1 series.

Prusa

Printer PLA PETG ABS ASA TPU Nylon (PA) Carbon or glass fiber
MK4S Yes Yes Conditional1 Conditional1 Yes Conditional1 Conditional2
CORE One and CORE One+ Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Conditional3
CORE One L and L+ Yes Yes Not listed Yes Yes Not listed Conditional3
XL and XL+ Yes Yes Conditional4 Conditional4 Yes Conditional4 Conditional5
  1. Prusa lists PLA, PETG, Flex, PVA, PC, PP, CPE and PVB for the MK4S. It adds ABS, ASA, HIPS and PA when the printer runs inside the Original Prusa Enclosure with the filtration add-on.
  2. Prusa’s MK4S page says the printer can handle carbon-filled filament. Prusa sells its hardened ObXidian nozzle for abrasive materials such as carbon fiber, and the printer’s standard nozzle is brass.
  3. Prusa’s CORE One pages don’t name carbon-filled filament in the supported-materials line. Prusa lists its hardened ObXidian nozzle as compatible with the CORE One family, and sells a 400 °C HT Hotend upgrade for the CORE One and CORE One L that it describes as improving PA11 carbon fiber and PC Blend carbon fiber.
  4. Prusa says the tougher materials (ABS, ASA, PC and nylon) need the optional Enclosure+, and the XL+ is open-frame without it.
  5. Prusa lists a hardened ObXidian nozzle as an XL+ accessory. The XL+ page doesn’t name carbon-filled filament.

Creality

Printer PLA PETG ABS ASA TPU Nylon (PA) Carbon or glass fiber
K1C Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
K2 Plus Yes Yes Yes Yes Not listed Not listed Yes1
K2 Pro Yes Yes Yes Yes Not listed Not listed Yes1
Ender-3 V3 Yes Yes Yes Not listed Yes Not listed Yes2
Ender-3 V3 SE Yes Yes Not listed Not listed Yes3 Not listed Not listed
Ender-3 V3 KE Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes3 Not listed Not listed
  1. Creality’s K2 list names PLA-CF, PA-CF and PPA-CF. It also notes that ABS, ASA and PPS print with a 60 °C chamber and PAHT-CF with a 50 °C chamber; both K2 models list active chamber heating up to 60 °C.
  2. Creality’s Ender-3 V3 list names PLA-CF, PETG-CF and its own CR-carbon filament.
  3. Creality lists TPU 95A specifically for the Ender-3 V3 SE and V3 KE.

Elegoo

Printer PLA PETG ABS ASA TPU Nylon (PA) Carbon or glass fiber
Centauri Carbon 2 Spec fit1 Spec fit1 Spec fit1 Spec fit1 Spec fit1 Spec fit1 Yes1
Neptune 4 Yes Yes Conditional2 Conditional2 Yes Yes Conditional3
Neptune 4 Pro Yes Yes Conditional2 Conditional2 Yes Yes Conditional3
Neptune 4 Plus Yes Yes Conditional2 Conditional2 Yes Yes Conditional3
Neptune 4 Max Yes Yes Conditional2 Conditional2 Yes Yes Conditional3
  1. Elegoo doesn’t publish a per-material list for the Centauri Carbon 2. It describes a 350 °C hardened steel nozzle for “PC, PET, and fiber-reinforced filaments,” a 110 °C bed and an enclosed chamber with a smart grille, and says the printer covers materials “from basic to engineering-grade.” “Spec fit” means the published limits cover the material. It isn’t an Elegoo endorsement of a specific filament.
  2. Elegoo’s Neptune 4-series pages recommend using an enclosure for ABS and ASA.
  3. Elegoo’s Neptune 4 product text mentions carbon fiber among the materials its textured PEI surface supports, but the spec-table list (PLA, TPU, PETG, ABS, ASA, nylon) doesn’t name it. Elegoo sells a hardened steel nozzle kit for the Neptune 4 family.

Anycubic

Printer PLA PETG ABS ASA TPU Nylon (PA) Carbon or glass fiber
Kobra S1 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Not listed Not listed
Kobra S1 Max Yes Yes Yes Yes Not listed Yes Yes
Kobra X Yes Yes Not listed Yes Yes Not listed Yes1
Kobra 4 Yes Yes Not listed Not listed Yes2 Not listed Not listed
Kobra 3 Max V2 Yes Yes Not listed Not listed Yes2 Not listed Not listed
Kobra 3 V2 Yes Yes Not listed Not listed Yes Not listed Not listed
  1. Anycubic’s Kobra X list names PLA-CF and PETG-CF only. The S1 Max list adds PA6-CF, PC-CF/GF and PET-CF.
  2. Anycubic’s Kobra 4 and Kobra 3 Max V2 pages list TPU for the printer but say TPU 95A is not compatible with the ACE 2 Pro multicolor unit.

Anycubic’s store lists the Kobra 3 V2 as end of life, so check parts availability before you plan around it.

Filament picks by material

These picks are based on maker pages and current retailer listings, not hands-on use. Each named product links to the exact listing, from whichever seller Amazon shows, and the two links that start with “Search Amazon for” are searches because no exact listing was verified. Pick the material first, then check the chart for your printer.

PLA

PETG

ABS

Check the chart first: ABS is the material where makers disagree most about open-frame printers.

ASA

TPU

TPU needs a printer whose feed path the maker backs for flexible filament, so confirm the chart says “Yes” before buying.

Nylon (PA)

Plain nylon is the narrowest column in the chart. Only a few models name it without a catch: Bambu’s P2S, X2D and H2 line, the Creality K1C, the Prusa CORE One, the Neptune 4 series and the Kobra S1 Max. The P1S, MK4S and XL+ are “Conditional.” Nylon absorbs moisture, so plan for a dry box or filament dryer.

Carbon or glass fiber

Fiber-filled filament wears brass, copper and stainless steel nozzles, so only print it with a hardened steel nozzle. Where the chart says “Conditional,” upgrade the nozzle first.

Before you buy

Frequently asked questions

Which filaments need a hardened steel nozzle?

Carbon-fiber and glass-fiber filled filaments, plus other filaments with abrasive particles. Bambu Lab, Prusa and Elegoo all sell hardened steel nozzles for this reason, and Bambu’s hotend pages mark hardened steel as required for its fiber-filled filaments. Plain PLA, PETG, ABS, ASA, TPU and nylon don’t need one.

Can an open-frame printer run ABS or ASA?

It depends on the maker. Creality lists ABS and ASA for the open-frame Ender-3 V3 KE, Elegoo recommends an enclosure for them on the Neptune 4 series, Prusa says they need the Enclosure+ on the XL+, and Bambu rates them “not recommended” on the A1 mini and A1. The chart shows each maker’s wording.

Does a “Yes” mean my multicolor unit can feed the filament too?

No. The chart covers the printer. Multicolor units such as Bambu’s AMS and Anycubic’s ACE have their own lists, and Anycubic, for example, says TPU 95A is not compatible with the ACE 2 Pro on the Kobra 4 and Kobra 3 Max V2.

Why does the chart say “Not listed” instead of “No”?

Because a maker leaving a material off its list isn’t the same as forbidding it. “Not listed” means the maker’s own page doesn’t name the material for that printer. Only “Not recommended” is a maker’s warning.

Sources

Every printer row comes from the maker pages below, checked October 19, 2026. Amazon product identities, brands and offers were checked the same day.